Industry Supporting Education – Tourism Scholarships Announced

The Nova Scotia Tourism Human Resource Council (NSTHRC) is pleased to announce the 2013 Tourism Scholarship Recipients.  Each year more than $5000 in scholarships are awarded to high school students and tourism employees in Nova Scotia

The 2013 Tourism Scholarship Recipients are:  Autumn Sheppard of New Germany Rural High School – Winner of the Walter H. Johnson Jr. Gold Scholarship ($1250); Meghan Carree of Central Kings Rural High School – Winner of the Walter H. Johnson Jr. Silver Scholarship ($750); Jevin Allen of Avon View High School – Winner of the NSTHRC and Hotel Association of Nova Scotia (HANS) joint Culinary Scholarship ($1000) and Shanice Miller of Digby Regional High School – Winner of the HANS Scholarship ($1000).

The Tourism Scholarships are presented to high school graduates who best embody the qualities necessary to excel in careers within the tourism industry. All winners will be attending post-secondary tourism or culinary programs.

The NSTHRC was established in 1989 as a division of TIANS to address labour market issues within the tourism sector in Nova Scotia. The Council’s mission is to develop a skilled and professional workforce for the Nova Scotia tourism sector. 

- 30 -
For more information contact:
Darlene Grant Fiander
Executive Director, NSTHRC
President, TIANS
2089 Maitland Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3K 2Z8
Phone: 902.423.4480
Email:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it